Anne Photograp News 2024

Five Bulldogs Earn Ivy League Year-End Honors

Five Bulldogs Earn Ivy League Year-End Honors

PRINCETON, NJ – Five members of the Yale softball team garnered year-end awards from the Ivy League, as announced on Wednesday, May 8.

Willa Ferrer and Sophie Woodridge were named First Team All-Ivy.

  • Woodridge played in 34 games for Yale and started the majority of those appearances at the designated player position. She led the team in batting average and doubles, and third in conference play in the Ivy in slugging percentage.
  • Ferrer appeared in 42 games for the Bulldogs, starting 36 of those appearances. She had a career year for Yale that saw her shatter her prior three years of stat lines. On the Bulldogs’ squad, she led the team in home runs, RBI, and hits. She was second in the Ivy play behind this year’s Player of the Year in RBIs. Additionally, Ferrer, an ethnicity, race and migration, was Yale’s Academic All-Ivy recipient.

Emma Taylor and Carolyn Skotz earned Second Team All-Ivy honors.

  • Taylor had a solid year for the Bulldogs in the circle. She earned 11 of Yale’s 20 wins, pitching 146 innings, the most of any Ivy League pitcher. She was tied for first in the Ivy wins and in strikeouts looking, and third in total strikeouts.
  • Skotz, the team’s captain, had a solid senior campaign that saw her surpass nearly every career statistic from her first three seasons for Yale. She was first on the team in runs scored, walks, and on base percentage. She was third in the Ivy in runs scored in conference play behind Sonia Zhang of Princeton, and Sophie Sun from Harvard, this year’s Player and Rookie of the Year. She was also second in the conference in on base percentage.

Isabella Fortini earned All-Ivy Honorable Mention honors. Fortini had a solid first year for Yale as a utility player, seeing time behind the plate, at third base, and in the outfield. She was one of three players on the squad to start all 44 games. On the base path, she was a perfect 7-for-7 in conference play and 10-for-10 on the season.

2024 All-Ivy Awards

Player of the Year

Sophie Sun, Harvard

Pitcher of the Year

Jensin Hall, Dartmouth

Rookie of the Year

Sophie Sun, Harvard

Coach of the Year

Lisa Van Ackeren, Princeton

First Team

P – Jensin Hall, Dartmouth
P – Anna Reed, Harvard
C – Mary Beth Cahalan, Dartmouth*
1B – Willa FerrerYale

2B – Cami Neal, Columbia*
3B – Sonia Zhang, Princeton*
SS – Sophie Sun, Harvard*
OR – Lauren Sablone, Princeton*
OR – Lauren Bobowski, Harvard
OR – Savannah Fitzpatrick, Harvard
UTIL – Julia Dumais, Princeton
P/UTIL – Sarah Mikami, Columbia*
D.P. – Sophie WoodridgeYale

Second Team

P – Alexis Guevara, Brown
P – Emma TaylorYale

C – Lauren Holt, Cornell
1B – Madi Mays, Harvard^
1B – Sophia Marsalo, Princeton^
2B – Maya Douglas, Harvard
3B – Priyanka Kaul, Harvard
S.S. – Carolyn SkotzYale

OR – Brianna Rodriguez, Brown
OR – Alaana Panu, Dartmouth
OR – Brianna Brown, Penn
UTIL – Hailey Pirkey, Cornell
DP – Laurel Moody, Brown

*unanimous selection
^team expanded due to a tie in voting

Honorable Mention

P – Nicole Hunter, Harvard
1B – Kelly Beaupre, Dartmouth
1B – Jasmine Hsiao, Brown
2B – Katie Regan, Penn
3B – Lilly Travieso, Cornell
3B – Savanna Messner, Columbia
SS – Jaden Hill, Columbia
OR – Leah Carey, Brown
OR – Allison Ha, Princeton
OR – Madison Souza, Columbia
UTIL – Isabella FortiniYale

DP – Maddy Rifenberick, Columbia