Anne Photograp News 2024

Jack Kelleher and Lindsay Peat the pick of players in AIL awards

Jack Kelleher and Lindsay Peat the pick of players in AIL awards

Fresh from leading Con to the AIL title with an outstanding performance in their recent final win over Terenure, Kelleher was named Division 1A player of the year. Kelleher, who previously spent time in the Munster set-up, enjoyed an excellent season with Con, as he took on the vice-captaincy role and led by example in the back-row.

Despite Railway coming up short to UL Bohs in the women’s final, Peat was one of the best players on the pitch, the former Ireland prop delivering a barnstorming display from No 8.

Peat’s powerful ball-carrying was a key reason why Railway made it to the historic Aviva Stadium decider, and while they couldn’t quite get over the line against an excellent Bohs side, their inspirational ex-basketball international and Dublin football star was once again to the fore.

Bohs were duly recognized for their success, as Fiona Hayes was named coach of the year, with Terenure boss Seán Skehan picking up the men’s accolade. Newly crowned champions St Mary’s, who are set to end a six-year absence from the top flight, saw their key man Ronan Watters named Division 1B player of the year.

Nenagh Ormond’s Willie Coffey picked up the gong in 2A, former Ireland U-20s center John Devine, whose brother Matthew is currently blazing a trail with Connacht, was crowned 2B player of the year, while Clogher Valley’s Callum Smyton was voted 2C’s standout player.

Elsewhere, the Energia ‘Possibilities’ award went to St Mary’s, while Shannon’s Tadhg Crowe’s work behind the scenes was acknowledged with the community hero award.

“On behalf of the IRFU, I would like to congratulate all the winners of the various men’s and women’s Energia All-Ireland Leagues for their efforts over the course of the season,” said IRFU president Greg Barrett.

“The top divisions concluded in an exciting crescendo at Aviva Stadium recently where an historic double-header saw UL Bohemian (women) and Cork Constitution (men) deserving winners in two competitive finals.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Energia for their tremendous ongoing support of Irish rugby across the domestic game.”

Energia AIL Player of the Year Awards – Women’s Div: Lindsay Peat (Railway Union).

Men’s Div 1A: Jack Kelleher (Cork Constitution).

Men’s Div 1B: Ronan Watters (St Mary’s College)

Men’s Div 2A: Willie Coffey (Nenagh Ormond)

Men’s Division 2B: John Devine (Galway Corinthians)

Men’s Division 2C: Callum Smyton (Clogher Valley)

energia AIL Coach of the Year Awards – Women’s Division: Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemian). Men’s Division: Seán Skehan (Terenure College)

AIL Community Hero Award: Tadhg Crowe, Shannon RFC.

AIL Possibilities Award: St Mary’s College RFC