Anne Photograp News 2024

IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans deliver a vicious blow against Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2024: Gujarat Titans deliver a vicious blow against Chennai Super Kings

Gill, Sudharsan century headed Gujarat’s 35-run win over Chennai
AHMEDABAD: Their attacking strokeplay had taken them to 231, Gujarat Titans played well and caught well to hold off Chennai Super Kings at 196/8 and triumph by 35 runs at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Friday.

The win kept GT’s faint hopes of qualifying for the play-offs alive. GT also broke the rut of three defeats and avenged the loss to CSK in last year’s final.

CSK started their quest for 232 on the wrong note, losing Rachin Ravindra (1) to a run-out through an athletic piece of fielding from David Miller at backward point.

Opener and impact player Ajinkya Rahane (1) was caught mid-off off the bowling of Sandeep Warrier. Captain Ruturaj Gaikwad departed without troubling the scorers after being caught at deep square leg by Rashid Khan as the visitors fell to 10/3 in three overs.

Moeen Ali and Daryll Mitchell started the rebuild by targeting Titans debutant Kartik Tyagi and spinners Rashid and Noor Ahmed. Ali hit the Afghan left-arm wrist spinner for three maximums in the 11th over as CSK reached 119 in 12 overs.

However, the introduction of Mohit Sharma changed the face of the match as he first dismissed Mitchell (63 off 34b; 7×4, 3×6), then Ali (56 off 36b; 4×4, 4×6) before taking into account the dangerous-looking Shivam Dube (21 from 13b; 2×4, 1×6). Good outfield catch from Shahrukh Khan and Ahmad sent the trio back and tilted the result in favor of Titans. MS Dhoni (26 off 11b; 1×4, 3×6) entertained the crowd by hitting maximums on Sharma and Rashid.

Earlier, the intent and uninhibited strokeplay that was missing from the Gujarat Titans (GT) in the current IPL campaign was on display. Captain Shubman Gill (104 off 55b; 9×4, 6×6) and fellow opener Sai Sudharsan (103 off 51b; 5×4, 7×6) hit scintillating tons to equal the highest opening wicket partnership. Sudharsan had missed a ton in the IPL final last year after making 96 not out.

However, what initially looked like a score of over 250 was kept to 231 by CSK bowlers Tushar Deshpande (2/33), Shardul Thakur (0/25) and Simarjeet Singh, who delivered the last five overs tightly, conceding just 41 runs got. taking three wickets.

Gill and Sudharsan, who opened in place of Wriddhiman Saha, went over themselves from the first time, with former Loft chef Mitchell Santner for the maximum at mid-way through the match.

Gujarat Titans undermine Chennai Super Kings’ play-off hopes