Anne Photograp News 2024

The cricket season begins… finally – The Pembrokeshire Herald

The cricket season begins… finally – The Pembrokeshire Herald

IN a gripping showdown at Heywood Lane, Tenby on Wednesday (May 1), Milford Haven emerged victorious in the 2024 KO Cup Plate Final, edging past a resilient Whitland team by a slim margin of 24-21 .

The clash, witnessed by a fervent crowd, showed the resilience and determination of both teams, culminating in a nail-biting finish that saw Milford Haven secure their first ever Plate trophy in the club’s history.

The Mariners took an early lead through a penalty thanks to winger James Trueman, which was quickly countered by Whitland’s full-back Geraint Jones. However, Milford took the lead with the first try of the match, when No. 8 Dewi Williams drove over the line from close range, with Trueman adding the extras.

Despite Whitland’s attempts to get back into contention with two penalties, which reduced the deficit to one point at half-time, Milford Haven remained calm. The second half witnessed a ruthless display from the Mariners as they exploited their dominant pack to create scoring opportunities.

James Trueman demonstrated his skills with a spectacular try, expertly set up by a quick pass from James Williams and Dan Jenkins. Trueman’s accurate kick further extended Milford’s lead, before Scott Buirds crashed for their third attempt, sealing an impressive advantage.

Yet Whitland refused to admit defeat and launched a spirited comeback with tries from Owyn Griffiths and Dom Davies. Despite their valiant efforts, Whitland fell short in their pursuit of victory, with a crucial penalty attempt bouncing off the post in the dying moments.

Milford Haven’s Ollie Rothero deservedly received the man of the match award for his composed performance, which epitomized the team’s resilience throughout the match. Rothero’s versatility and steadfastness in the number 15 shirt proved to play a major role in Milford’s victory, despite stiff competition from Trueman’s impressive place-kicking and memorable try.

In the end, Milford Haven emerged as worthy victors; their victory was a testament to their tenacity and unity on the field. As the final whistle blew, the Mariners celebrated a hard-fought victory that etched their names in the annals of KO Cup Plate history.

The club said on their Facebook page after the match: “All the players, coaching team and committee would like to thank everyone who came to Tenby tonight to support the boys. It really meant a lot to us as a club and undoubtedly to the city!”


Milford Haven: Ollie Rothero, Robbie Jones, James Williams, Dan Jenkins, Jamie Trueman, Efan Morgan, Dan McClelland, Aaron Mayne, Luke Ryan, Jimmy Buirds, Jay Goodall, Zac Davies (captain), Ryan Mansell, Ieuan Davies, Dewi Williams. Replacements: Dai. Sweeny, Ben Jenkins, Ben Groves, Scott Buirds, Ethan Aldred, Lee Riley, Dean McSparron.

Whitland: Geraint Jones, Morgan Lewis, Jamie Goldsworthy, Dom Davies, Owyn Griffiths, Jonathan Thomas, Trystan Rees, Dafydd Walters, Marc Jones, Trystan Bowen, Benjamin Kirk, Dan Bennett, Lewis Tingay, Cian Evans, Zac France-Miller. Replacements: Ceiron Evans, Charlie Watson, Jack Worthing, Thomas Iraia, Geraint McCoan.