Anne Photograp News 2024

Albany FireWolves players, head coach and owner named finalists for NLL Awards

Albany FireWolves players, head coach and owner named finalists for NLL Awards

    Albany Firewolves

May 8, 2024 – National Lacrosse League (NLL)
Albany FireWolves news story

ALBANY, NY – The National Lacrosse League (NLL) today announced that five members of the Albany FireWolves have been nominated as finalists for the season-ending awards.

Alex Simmons and Tye Kurtz are both finalists for Rookie of the Year. Doug Jamieson is a finalist for Goalkeeper of the Year for the second time in his NLL career. Glenn Clark is a finalist for both the Les Bartley Award (Coach of the Year) and General Manager of the Year. FireWolves’ CEO and owner Oliver Marti is a finalist for Executive of the Year.

View the full list of finalists here:

Alex Simmons – Rookie of the Year Finalist

Simmons finished the regular season with 96 points, the second most by a first-year player in NLL history. Simmons leads the FireWolves in goals (38) and assists (58), while also grabbing 85 loose balls. He currently leads all players in playoff scoring with 19 points (9 goals, 10 assists).

Tye Kurtz – Rookie of the Year Finalist

Kurtz’s is second in rookie scoring behind Simmons with 78 points (32 goals, 46 assists). His 112 loose balls are fourth among all NLL forwards. He is currently second in playoff scoring with 17 points (5 goals, 12 assists).

Doug Jamieson – Goalkeeper of the Year Finalist

Jamieson recorded a career-high 11 wins during the 2023-24 NLL season with a 10.12 goals against average and an 80% save rate. In 978 minutes played this season, Jamieson made 662 saves. Jamieson currently has 3 wins in the 2024 NLL Playoffs with a Goals Against Average of 8.34 and a Save Percentage of 84%. He made 52 saves and allowed just 3 goals in the FireWolves opening round win over the Halifax Thunderbirds. Jamieson was named NLL Goaltender of the Year in 2020 and would be the fourth goaltender in NLL history to receive the award more than once.

Glenn Clark – Les Bartley Award (Head Coach of the Year) and General Manager of the Year Finalist

Clark spent just one year leading the FireWolves to the 2024 NLL Finals after posting a 3-15 record and finishing in last place in the NLL during the 2022-2023 season. Through player movements as a general manager and as a leader on the bench as a head coach, Clark has been the steady presence that has fueled such a miraculous turnaround. Clark previously won the Les Bartley Award (Coach of the Year) in 2016 as head coach of the New England Black Wolves.

Oliver Marti – Executive of the Year Finalist

Marti brought the NLL back to Albany in 2021 when he purchased the New England Black Wolves and became CEO and owner of the Albany FireWolves. In just three seasons, he has led the organization to the NLL playoffs twice and now to their first appearance in the NLL Finals.

After nominations were completed, each NLL team cast three ballots for each award and selected media were eligible to vote for all awards except Teammate of the Year and Executive of the Year.

Voting members selected their top five choices for each award from all the nominated individuals. Points were distributed as follows for each first through fifth place vote:

1st place – 10 points

2nd place – 7 points

3rd place – 5 points

4th place – 3 points

5th place – 1 point

The person who accumulates the most points will be announced as the winner, while the top three in each category will be designated as the prize finalists. The All-NLL and All-Rookie teams are determined by the top vote-getters in each position-based award. The All-Rookie team will consist of six rookies regardless of position. The All-NLL First Team and All-NLL Second Team will consist of six individuals – two forwards, one transition player, two defensemen and one goaltender – per team.

The prize winners will be announced by the NLL in the coming week before the start of the NLL Finals. The FireWolves will take on the Buffalo Bandits in a best-of-three series for the NLL Cup, starting with Game 1 on Friday, May 17 at 7:00 PM at MVP Arena. Get ready for an exciting conclusion to the Albany FireWolves playoffs, presented by Concord Pools & Spas.

The Albany FireWolves need the support of the Capital Region as they continue their hunt for the NLL Cup! Buy tickets now for Game 1 of the NLL Finals on Friday, May 17 at 7:00 PM at MVP Arena in Albany, NY.

Tickets are available now!

• Discuss this story on the National Lacrosse League message board…

The views expressed in this press release are those of the issuing organization and do not necessarily reflect the thoughts or opinions of OurSports Central or its employees.