close
close

annesophiemorel-photographie

Anne Photograp News 2024

Bayern player De Ligt denounces ‘disgraceful’ offside at UCL exit
bacul43e

Bayern player De Ligt denounces ‘disgraceful’ offside at UCL exit

Thomas Tuchel said the linesman apologized to him for a late offside call in Real Madrid’s Champions League semi-final win over Bayern Munich on Wednesday, while Matthijs de Ligt described the call as a “disgrace”.

De Ligt thought he had equalized in stoppage time when the ball came to him in Madrid’s penalty area and he hit the target, but referee Szymon Marciniak had already stopped the game for offside. The match ended minutes later in a dramatic 2–1 win against Madrid, which saw them progress to the final 4–3 on aggregate.

– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, more (US)

Speaking to TNT Sport, Tuchel said: “It was a disastrous decision by the linesman and the referee. In the end it almost feels like a betrayal because of that decision. It was a huge fight, we left everything on the pitch. It was us almost there. Now we have to congratulate Real Madrid.

“The linesman said sorry… The referee doesn’t have to flag; he sees us winning the second ball, he sees us getting a shot away,” he added. “Whisting is a very, very bad decision. It’s against the rules, and it’s a bad decision by both of them. It’s a disaster, hard to swallow, but it is what it is.”

After the match, De Ligt said Bayern did not get the same chance from the referee as Madrid, pointing to Joselu’s winner, which was flagged for offside after scoring and later awarded by the Video Assistant Referee (VAR).

“I think we all know the rules. If the offside call is not clear, you have to play on! This is the rule! I think it’s a bit of a shame. Joselu’s goal was also almost offside and they keep playing, so why not with us?” said De Ligt.

Madrid boss Carlo Ancelotti dismissed Bayern’s complaints at a post-match press conference. He pointed out that his side had an earlier equalizer from Nacho Fernandez disallowed due to a push on Joshua Kimmich, who “dived”, Ancelotti claimed.

β€œThe move is very clear, the linesman raised his flag, the referee blew his whistle and we stopped,” Ancelotti said. “If they complain about that, we can complain about Nacho’s disallowed goal. Kimmich dived together and pushed each other.”