Anne Photograp News 2024

SRH rewrites history books, records biggest ever total inside first 10 overs in tantalizing 10-wicket win over LSG

SRH rewrites history books, records biggest ever total inside first 10 overs in tantalizing 10-wicket win over LSG

There’s firepower, and then there’s Sunrisers Hyderabad. The pioneering SRH showed to the entire world why they will be the most feared batting line-up in the entire IPL as they chased down 166 runs in less than 10 overs, to complete an extremely dominant 10-wicket win over Lucknow Super Giants. .

SRH’s chase of 166 in 9.4 overs, or 58 balls, would in fact become a historic milestone as the 167 scored by SRH would become the highest total ever recorded after the first 10 overs of the IPL.

Highest total after first 10 overs in IPL:

  1. 167/0: SRH vs LSG Hyderabad 2024
  2. 158/4: SRH vs DC Delhi 2024
  3. 148/2: SRH vs MI Hyderabad 2024
  4. 141/2: MI vs SRH Hyderabad 2024

Stay up to date with the latest news from IPL 2024including top candidates for the IPL 2024 ORANGE CAP And IPL 2024 PURPLE CAP. Discover the full IPL 2024 SCHEDULE, IPL 2024 POINTS TABLE and players with the MOST SIX, THE MOST FOUR And MOST FIFTY in IPL 2024

Their 58-ball win would help them register the biggest most-ball win in IPL history.

Win with most balls left in IPL (100+ targets):

  1. 62 balls: SRH vs LSG, Hyderabad 2024 (Target: 166)
  2. 57 balls: Delhi Capitals vs. Punjab Kings, Brabourne 2022 (target: 116)
  3. 48 balls: Deccan Chargers vs MI, Navi Mumbai 2008 (Target: 155)

LSG won the toss and opted to bat first, a decision that skipper KL Rahul might regret at this point.

After a horror show early on, it was the Badoni-Pooran duo who played through LSG’s rough patch with attacking intent to build a 99-run partnership within 9 overs as Badoni and Pooran ended their innings with scores of 55*. and 48* to take LSG to a total of 165 runs.

LSG took to the field for the second innings in Hyderabad, hoping to defend their total. But little did they know the hell that SRH openers Abhishek Sharma and Travis Head would descend on them.

K Gowtham started with the new ball and got off to a good start, conceding only 8 runs. But that would prove to be the only instance in the entire chase where LSG bowlers would concede just under 14 runs.

After Abhishek Sharma’s strike against Yash Thakur, which would see the opener find four fours in a row, Head would devastate Gowtham in his second over, blinding the unsuspecting spinner for a whopping 22 runs.

Head would pepper his strokes with venom as he would run like a frenzy in the over, causing the Aussie to hit the spinner for 3 sixes and 2 fours.

Out of desperation, LSG brought in Ravi Bishnoi early on, and after a huge six from Abhishek Sharma, negligence saw the likes of Yash Thakur drop a catch to dismiss Abhishek, a mistake the visitors would later resent.

However, Head was far from done with his attack as the Aussie would beat Naveen Ul-Haq for the same 22 runs as he did Gowtham earlier, reaching fifty in just 16 balls and surpassing 500 runs. for SRH in this IPL season.

Yash Thakur would eventually be brought in to round out the powerplay on a ray of hope, but it would all turn into disaster again for the pacer, who would be pummeled by Abhishek Sharma for 20 runs after the over, as SRH would finish. 107-0 on the power play.

Their 107-run stand would become the second-highest powerplay total scored in IPL history, followed only by a 125-run stand set up by the Sunrisers themselves in their encounter against Delhi Capitals earlier this season . .

Highest Powerplay totals in IPL

  1. 125/0 SRH vs DC Delhi 2024
  2. 107/0 SRH vs LSG Hyderabad 2024
  3. 105/0 KKR vs RCB Bengaluru 2017
  4. 100/2 CSK vs PK Wankhede 2014
  5. 93/1 PK vs KKR Kolkata 2024

However, there would be no slowing down for the opening duo, who would continue to pile on the misery each successive time.

The only real competition that followed was between Head and Abhishek over who would steal the spotlight. And before you knew it, Abhishek also reached fifty in just 19 balls, 3 balls more than Head tonight.

KL Rahul and co. was made a mere spectator as the duo only dealt fours and sixes throughout, wreaking havoc among all the bowlers thrown in their path.

And before you knew it all, Abhishek Sharma would end it in style by smashing six more covers off a Yash Thakur delivery to seal the deal and create history.

With their win, SRH jumped all the way to third place in the IPL table, while LSG was pushed to sixth place, below Delhi Capitals.