Anne Photograp News 2024

24-member Indian hockey squad announced for European leg of FIH Pro League 2023-2024 – Firstpost

24-member Indian hockey squad announced for European leg of FIH Pro League 2023-2024 – Firstpost

The Indian hockey team has named 24 players for the European leg of the Hockey Pro League. Hockey India image

Hockey India on Thursday announced the 24-member Indian men’s hockey team that will participate in the 2023-24 FIH Hockey Pro League to be held in Antwerp, Belgium and London, England. The Belgian leg starts on May 22 and ends on May 30, while the English leg starts on June 1 and ends on June 12.

India will play Argentina, Belgium, Germany and Great Britain twice each over both legs and will start their campaign against Argentina on May 22. India are currently third in the points table, with 15 points from eight matches.

Captain Harmanpreet Singh will take charge of the team. Meanwhile, dynamic midfielder Hardik Singh has been named as his deputy. The goalkeeping responsibilities will fall on PR Sreejesh and Krishan Bahadur Pathak, while the defensive line-up will consist of Jarmanpreet Singh, Amit Rohidas, Harmanpreet Singh, Sumit, Sanjay, Jugraj Singh and Vishnukant Singh.

The midfield is made up of dynamic players like Vivek Sagar Prasad, Nilakanta Sharma, Manpreet Singh, Shamsher Singh, Hardik Singh, Rajkumar Pal and Mohd. Raheel Mouseen. The forward team has Mandeep Singh, Abhishek, Sukhjeet Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Gurjant Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Araijeet Singh Hundal and Boby Singh Dhami.

Speaking about the team selection, Chief Coach Craig Fulton said: “We trained hard in camp and developed an understanding of each other’s gameplay. Before the Olympic Games in Paris we will play against top quality teams, which will help us to further develop our game and get through it better. This will be an opportunity and go a long way in evaluating where we are as a team and as individual players. It will be a great way to find out what our strengths are and what areas we need to address.”

Meanwhile, captain Harmanpreet Singh said: “We look forward to continuing the season in the Olympic year with the FIH Hockey Pro League where we will play against top quality teams. We have chosen a squad to give players exposure and it will also allow me to see some players in competition mode ahead of the Paris Olympics. We had a camp in SAI, Bengaluru, where we underwent rigorous training sessions and made progress in the areas where we felt we needed to improve. We are looking forward to the games and I hope the results will be in our favor.”

Indian men’s hockey team:

1. Sreejesh Parattu Raveendran
2. Krishan Bahadur Pathak

3. Jarmanpreet Singh
4. Amit Rohidas
5. Harmanpreet Singh
6. Sumit
7. Sanjay
8. Jugraj Singh
9. Vishnukant Singh

10. Vivek Sagar Prasad
11. Nilakanta Sharma
12. Manpreet Singh
13. Shamsher Singh
14. Hardik Singh
15. Rajkumar Pal
16. Mohd. Raheel Mouseen

17. Mandeep Singh
18. Abishek
19. Sukhjeet Singh
20. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
21. Gurjant Singh
22. Akashdeep Singh
23. Araijeet Singh Hundal
24. Boby Singh Dhami

All matches of the FIH Hockey Pro League 2023/24 will be streamed on JioCinema. Moreover, all matches in India will be telecast on Sports18 – Khel.

Latest news

Find us on YouTube